At the bottom of this page is a link to download our new burn permit, as well as the phone number to call to find out if it's a burn day or not.
Oregon DEQ is responsible for establishing and enforcing the regulations pursuant to open burning and air quality. If you wish to report an illegal burn, smoke, or air quality issue; file an online complaint or call DEQ at 888-997-7888.
Outdoor burning is dependent upon where you live, the time of year, and weather conditions.
Please read the following rules below prior to burning.
A Burn Permit is required prior to burning.
Persons wishing to conduct open burning operations should call 541-776-7007 or check the Jackson County’s Open and Barrel Burning website on the day they wish to burn. https://jacksoncountyor.org/hhs/Environmental-Public-Health/Wood-Stove-and-Open-Burning/Open-and-Barrel-Burning the phone line and website will confirm whether it is a DEQ authorized burn day.
Backyard burning includes yard debris, trimmings, and clippings only. Dimensional lumber, trash, or other non-yard debris items cannot be burned at any time. Persons must ensure that combustible material is dried to the best extent possible. This includes covering the combustible material to protect from moisture and loosely stacking the material to eliminate dirt, rocks, or other non-combustible material to promote an adequate air supply within the burning pile. Source: OAR 340-264-0070
Backyard burning is only allowed during daylight hours and within a specified distance from a structure. Open burning shall not be conducted within 50 feet of any structure or other combustible material. Conditions, which could cause the fire to spread to within 50 feet of a structure, shall be eliminated prior to ignition. The exception is clearance from structures and other combustible materials may be reduced to not less than 15 feet when burning is conducted in an approved burning appliance such as a burn barrel, or not less than 25 feet when the burn pile size is 1 cubic yard or less in diameter. Source 2010 Oregon Fire Code 307.
If a fire starts to spread to other combustible materials or threatens structures, call 911 immediately!
Commercial agricultural burning is allowed only on designated burn days, during approved hours, in accordance with Jackson County Oregon, and the Department of Environmental Quality.
Slash Burning of Logging Debris
For a permit to burn slash following a logging operation or other industrial operation, contact the Oregon Department of Forestry. In the Medford Unit's protection area (most of Jackson County), call (541) 664-3328. In the Grants Pass Unit's protection area (all of Josephine County and the west side of Jackson County), call (541) 474-3152.
Department of Environmental Quality
DEQ is responsible for establishing and enforcing the regulations pursuant to open burning and air quality. If you wish to report an illegal burn, smoke, or air quality issue; file an online complaint or call DEQ at 888-997-7888. Individuals found in violation of the regulations above can be fined between $1,000 and $2,500 (per event) by DEQ. Individuals may also be liable for any property loss damage and suppression costs resulting from a burning incident.
Evans Valley Fire District responds to fires that are a threat to people and property. If a fire is threatening nearby structures, vegetation, or other combustible materials, call 911 immediately.
If you have an expired burn permit, you may renew it by calling us at (541) 582-0678, Download a new burn permit from the link below, or come by the station to pick one up.
For burn day information call 541-776-7007
Click the link below to download a burn permit.
Burn Permit 2021-2022.pdf